The New Year is fast approaching, along with new state minimum wage requirements for some employers. Before you begin the year, make sure you know the law in your state and be prepared to adjust your wage payments if necessary to comply with any required changes.
The following states, and the City of San Francisco, have announced increases in minimum wage rates effective January 1, 2012:
- Arizona: The minimum wage in Arizona will increase to $7.65 per hour.
- City of San Francisco, California: The City of San Francisco's minimum wage rate will rise to $10.24 per hour.
- Colorado: The proposed state minimum wage is $7.64 per hour, and $4.62 for tipped employees.
- Florida: The minimum wage will increase to $7.67 per hour in Florida, and $4.65 for tipped employees.
- Montana: The state minimum wage will rise to $7.65 per hour.
- Ohio: The state minimum wage will increase to $7.70 per hour, and $3.85 for tipped employees. The federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour may be paid to employees whose employers gross $283,000 or less per year.
- Oregon: The minimum wage will rise to $8.80 per hour in Oregon.
- Vermont: The state minimum wage will increase to $8.46 per hour, and $4.10 for tipped employees.
- Washington: The minimum wage in Washington will increase to $9.04 per hour.
In most states, an increase in the minimum wage also means a new poster requirement for employers. You can always find the most up-to-date minimum wage information and posters on your state's labor department website, or you can visit the State Laws section, click on your state, and select Minimum Wage in the left-hand navigation menu.